Remorseful Fayose begs for forgiveness

Ekiti State governor, Ayo Fayose, has admitted that the impeachment move embarked upon by the nineteen All Progressives Congress (APC) legislators in the Ekiti State House of Assembly has become a nightmare, not only his government, but the people of the state.

Ayo Fayose

Ayo Fayose

The governor also hinted that he was prepared to accept whatever solution to the crisis as soon as possible, even if it means seeking truce with the aggrieved lawmakers.

Fayose dropped this hint at a special prayer session organised for him by the Ansarudeen Mosque, Odo-Out, Atikankan, in Ado-Ekiti, to celebrate his recent electoral victory at the Supreme Court.

“If they say someone has enemies, I’m number in the world. But, God has been merciful and has been helping me to overcome my challenges.

“I need your prayers because it will strengthen me more. I’m here in the mosque to thank God.

“All I want is peace. I have a constitutionally guaranteed tenure. A governor is judged by his achievements in office. “All I’m interested in is to bring development to my people. My opponents know if I have a rest of mind, I will achieve my objectives.

“All those I have offended should forgive me for the sake of the masses and orphans.

“They should know people gave me the mandate. Nobody is above mistake; they should forgive me.

“A lot of our people before the judgment had been under palpable fear of the unknown.

“We are here to thank God and pray for peace. I’m appealing to them to please allow peace to reign.

“There is no perfect man. They should allow peace to reign. All I want is peace that will allow development.

“Anything that can bring peace cannot be wished away. For me, I’m ready to accommodate everybody. Whatever they want, we can sit down and talk.

Fayose said he was waving the olive branch in the overall interest of Ekiti people as well as restoration of peace.

He explained that several calls and appeals for amicable solution to the lingering crisis by eminent leaders, religious leaders, as well as traditional rulers, informed his latest stance.

He regretted that activities of the 19 APC lawmakers had taken toll on legitimate businesses of people of the state, with one life lost in the process.

Earlier, before leading the prayers for the governor, the State Missioner of the Ansarudeen Movement, Alhaji Liadi Adebayo, called on both Fayose and the APC lawmakers to bury their hatchets.

He canvassed for peaceful co-existence of entire people of Ekiti State, irrespective of their political differences.

The cleric urged residents to live together in harmony as politics was not supposed to be a do or die affair.

In a swift reaction, Speaker of the All Progressives Congress (APC) caucus in the State House of Assembly, Rt Hon Adewale Omirin has accepted the olive branch offered by the governor Ayo Fayose describing him (Fayose) as the architect of his problems.

Omirin, who was reacting to the Fayose gestures, said nobody was prepared to cause trouble but the governor has been making the state ungovernable through his alleged actions against the opposition.

His words “We are ready for dialogue too. If he is ready to toe the path of peace. He is the one causing trouble. He is the one that has brought inconvenience to us and our families.

Leave a Reply

