‘How We Lavished Proceeds From Our Robbery Operations’

Robbers

Benson Collins is a robbery suspect. He and other members of his gang opened up to our correspondent on their deeds at Lagos State Police Command recently.

The 21 years old man who resides at 23 Agindiayo Street, Magbon, said he was introduced to the leader of his gang called Wahab Hassan popularly known as Webo by one Abagun.

“I only took part in robbery operation with Webo once. We robbed De-Sholly Filling Station, Ajangbadi here in Lagos. I got N400, 000 as my share. But Webo said he handed Abagun N500, 000 to be given to me but the guy only gave N400, 000.

“I bought one motorcycle for N120, 000 from the money. I lavished the remaining money. My gun is yet to be recovered. It is with Moonlight, another member of the group” he began his tales.

The suspect who claimed he was a surveyor said apart from the robbery operation he went with Webo, he has carried out a series of armed robbery operations with his own gang.

“I have robbed in Ikotun and Agbara about five times. We have two guns in my gang. My gang members are Suleiman alias Moonlight, Potter and Yakubu Bada.

While the manhunt for Webo by the police was on, Collins was arrested in connection with a robbery operation carried out by another gang.

Both of them later met at the cell of the Special Anti Robbery Squad (SARS).

Webo who had been on the wanted list of the police was accused of being  a god-father to the armed robberys and cultists suspect operating along the Badagry axis of Lagos State  and owns the guns with which they carried out robbery operations.

The Lagos State Police Command Public Relations Officer, Kenneth Nwosu who confirmed Webo’s arrest said that the suspects were on the wanted list of the police for four years.

Webo was said to have led robbery operations at different restaurants and attack on businessmen and women in the neighboring Benin Republic in addition to other crimes.

He allegedly led the gang that attacked De -Sholly Filling Station manager on 23rd February, 2015 where N6.8million was snatched from the filling station’s boss after he was shot on the armpit.

Speaking with our correspondent, Webo, stated his own side of the story thus;

“My name is Hassan Wahab, but friends call me Webo. I was born in 1984. I am a Lagosian from Badagry. I live at 17 Akinola Street, Igando. I am a welder by profession, but I don’t have a shop. I work as a journeyman.

“I am single. My father and mother live at Agbara. I am the third born of seven children. Police arrested me for armed robbery. We robbed at Agbara in Ogun State.

“We robbed De-Sholly Filling station. We collected N6.8million. We were eight in number. I got N800,000 as my share. In fact, I was the one that shared the money. l used part of my share to rent house in Ifon Road, along Cele Bus Stop in Ogun State.

“The house was a room and parlour. I bought a motorcycle also. We have carried out robbery operations about six times. I robbed a cyber cafe in Okokomaiko with my gang, and collected monies, phones and lap tops. We shared the items among ourselves I got phones and laptop.

“I sold the laptop for N48, 000 at Alaba. We robbed an eatery at Shibiri Road, Ajamgbadi. The operation was carried out at about 8pm. We made only N30,000 and stole only four phones. Four of us carried out the operation. Other three are still at large.

“I took one of the biggest phones we got from the operation and N5, 000. We also robbed a restaurant along Okokomaiko Road, it was about 8pm. It was the same gang of four. We got only N12,000 and two phones. I got N4,000.

“We stormed a beer parlour in Ajamgbadi and collected N22, 000 from the lady who operates the business during her closing hours. We also carried out robbery after attending a function at o Gateway Polytechnic in Ogun State. The students invited us for matriculation. They were cult boys. “I am a member of Eiye confraternity. I am in the fourth position in the cult. When we were coming back, we entered a car wash in Abeokuta and stole N6, 000 and one phone. We were there with only one gun. Four of us carried out the operation.

“Myself, Ochuko, Henry and one other person were involved in the operation. I have a gun. I bought my gun from one Omonile for N17, 000. We have never killed anyone during our operation. We have never wounded anybody except during the filling station operation.”

Leave a Reply

