Russia Extends Food Trade Ban To 5 More Countries

Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev, on Thursday in Moscow announced extension of food trade ban to five more countries.

He said the affected countries include Albania, Montenegro, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Ukraine (with reservations).

Russia in August 2014 banned importation of a wide range of U.S. and European foods in response to Western sanctions, confronting Russians with a type of economic isolation largely unseen since the Soviet era.

Medvedev said the products ban, were beef, pork, poultry, fish, fruit, vegetables, cheese, milk and other dairy products from the U.S., Canada, the European Union, Norway and Australia, in a radical response to penalties imposed on Russia over the crisis in Ukraine.

The Prime Minister said the affected countries have sided with the European Union (EU) about extension of anti-Russian sanctions, claiming they must introduce them due to various agreements with the EU.

He said some countries that have similar agreements with the EU, have not participated in the sanctions, so joining the sanctions is a deliberate choice.

On Aug. 6, Russia started to destroy foods from the blacklisted countries by the order of President Vladimir Putin. (Xinhua/NAN)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s