I’m Not Scared Of Musa, Emenike Challenge –Igboun

Newly invited Super Eagles striker, Sylvester Igboun, says he’s not afraid to compete with Emmanuel Emenike and Ahmed Musa for a first team shirt ahead of Nigeria’s 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Tanzania on September 5.

Igboun, who plays for FC Ufa in the Russian league, said that he was ready to fight his way into the team if given the opportunity against the Taifa Stars.

Sylvester Igboun

Sylvester Igboun

Well Ahmed Musa and Emenike are both great players and I respect the fact that they have both been there before me, but the issue here is we all both have something to give which is our performance.

“I am going to the national team to give my best and to make people recognize me, it’s going to be a big challenge for me but I’m used to challenges and I’ve always come out good at the end.

“But the most important thing is victory against Tanzania and that’s what counts for me,” he said.

Meanwhile, Wolves goalkeeper, Carl Ikeme thought someone was joking with him when he was told of his first international call-up for Nigeria.

The 29-year-old will join up with the Super Eagles for their African Cup of Nations qualifier against Tanzania on September 3.

Ikeme declared his allegiance to Nigeria some years ago and will now challenge Nigeria captain Vincent Enyeama for a place in the side.

“When the message and the phone call came I thought someone was winding me up to start with,” he said.

“I spoke to the coach and it started to make more sense and I realised it was none of my cousins winding me up or anything like that.”

Ikeme said it was a ‘no-brainer’ to accept the call-up as he has close ties to the country.

Leave a Reply

